top of page

Updated BTTA Constitution - September 2020

Name: Brentwood Towers Tenants’ Association (BTTA)

Nature: The Association is a non-profit organization

1. Constitution

a.  To safeguard members’ rights as tenants under their agreements with the landlord and under provincial and municipal legislation.

b.  To provide for closer communication and a closer relationship between management and tenants.

c.  To work to improve security, maintenance and other matters of concern to tenants.

d.  To help create a sense of community among tenants.

e.  To act as a liaison with other tenant groups.

f.  To assist tenant members who have a particular problem in being heard by management and/or other tenants so that solutions can be identified and tried.

g.  To be committed to accessibility and equality among tenants.


2. Memberships

a.  Membership is open to all tenants living at 17, 19, 21, 23, and 25 Lascelles Boulevard.

b.  Membership is not open to the property’s owners, members of their immediate family, their employees or agents.

c.  Membership is ten dollars ($10.00) per year, with one membervote per apartment unit.   Fees are payable upon joining the association no later than May 31st each year.

d.  The fiscal period of the Association shall commence in the primary year May 1st inclusive to April 30th of the following year.

e.  If a new tenant moves into Brentwood Towers and signs a lease the month of the annual general meeting, they can register and vote at the BTTA AGM.

3. Membership Meetings

General Meetings will be held only at the call of the Executive or a quorum of members by petition, at least one (1) per year with at least two weeks’ notice to all members.

The Annual General Members’ Meeting will include a financial report submitted by the Treasurer that has been reviewed by independent Trustees that may or may not be members in good standing, excluding members of the Executive.  The Trustee’s sole role for the next year will be voted on at that meeting.

4. Quorum

General Meetings will have a quorum of twenty (20) current members present.

5. Executive Committee

The Executive Committee will consist of the following ten (10) members to be elected once a year at a general meeting.

1.  President

2.  Vice-President

3.  Secretary

4.  Treasurer

5.  One (1) representative from each building.

6.  Membership Development Chair

The President will be the Chairperson for all meetings.

The Vice President will act in place of the President if he/she is unable to attend a meeting.

The Secretary will record proceedings.

The Treasurer will be responsible for the Association’s finances.

Each Building Representative will be the liaison for the building they represent.

a.  A member of the Executive Committee who is absent for more than two (2) meetings in a row, without giving notice to the Secretary and having it accepted by the Executive will be assumed to have resigned from the Executive.

b.  The Executive will make rules and regulations regarding the Association, by a majority vote.  Such rule